Three Drunk Monkeys

“I have a terrific marriage, but unlike a lot of relationships where they ebb and flow, no matter what happens you fall deeper and deeper in love every day. It’s kind of the best thing that can happen to you. It’s thrilling.” -Hugh Jackman November 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — drunkmunkies @ 7:34 pm

Yesterday I mentioned that Ian had Daddy Duty so I could go to JoAnn’s and he could ditch me and Abby for football today.  Last night we were talking about our arrangement and one of our guy friends who has a 16 month old got really excited.  “You get to go to football?!”  I thought that was pretty funny.

We have this arrangement  to keep each other sane… it’s the same reason that we split the night time duties.  Both of us need time away from the kid and each other, and we both need sleep.  Without sleep, I’m useless to everyone, and I’m sure Ian would be too.  For the moms who exclusively breast feed and get up every 2-3 hours all hours of the day… I have no idea how you do it.  I’m so impressed.  I feel like I would be much more likely to have a serious case of postpartum depression (due to lack of sleep) if I did… you’re amazing!

On that note, my hubby is awesome.  He has been a fantastic support system.  There are people on the BabyCenter boards who always complain about their husbands and the stupid things they say.  Luckily, it has never ever occurred to me to contribute to these – just to laugh at them.  Ian has been a real trooper with everything from being my voice during Abby’s delivery to making sure I can shower or just get away.  He always makes sure that I eat first and tells me that I need to get outta the house and he’ll watch her.  I know that there are a lot of people out there going, “Um, yeah… he’d better be.  You had the kid.”  But there are SO many men that wouldn’t do this… we’re in this together and it’s nice to be able to say that.  There are so many husbands/fathers out there that aren’t interested in helping, and leave the work up to the mothers.  I’m not sure if Ian is so helpful because it’s his job as a parent (or he wants to) or he recognizes that it’s paramount to his survival in his relationship with me or both.  In any case, I love him to death and can’t express enough how much he means to me.  Hopefully he just knows.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

