Three Drunk Monkeys

Granola Mom January 1, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — drunkmunkies @ 8:09 pm

I grew up a sort of granola girl… WWF Panda and Green Peace stickers on my binder in middle school;  subscription to National Geographic magazine and videos;  volunteer work with scouts including camping with younger scouts.  Later, when I moved to the Seattle area, WTA and NOLS stickers on my car.

 

However, during late high school and throughout college, I lost my edge and was sucked into the capitalist system of Northern Virginia.  I would dress up to go to the mall that had Versace stores in it.  I made sure that I was dressed well and had makeup on.  I could’ve fed a small country with the money I spent at Coach in a year (seriously).

 

Oh how I’ve changed again.

 

The way I envision myself parenting is very different than the way I actually am.  I would love to breastfeed until she’s at least one, but that’s a lot to be asking when you work full time.  I’m taking supplements and drinking crazy teas to increase my supply as it is.  I actually thought about whether I would do it passed 12 months.  I think that if I still was able to, a quick nip before bed time is okay.  Anything beyond that isn’t me… at least not now, but I’ve tried to do the things that I see as best for Abby, and things could change.

 

I’m a baby wearer… maybe not to extent that some people are, but I would like to be more so than I am.  I do it when I can – it just makes more sense most of the time.  Why would you wrestle with a car seat or a stroller when you can strap her on and have two hands free?  I’ve gotten many envious and surprised looks from people when you have a grocery basket in one hand and your cell phone in the other with a kid asleep on you.  And most kids love to be carried anyway.  There are a ton of reason that you should carry them… it’s good for everyone involved I think.

 

I’m doing cloth diapers – again… there are many reasons to do it, and they aren’t anywhere as hard as people think they are.  I actually made a joke with someone about them after a relay race at a baby shower.  Turns out that there have been a lot of developments when it comes to cloth diapers.  They aren’t just for hippies anymore.

 

Well… maybe they are.  But I’ve already written about that.

 

Turns out that I’m a bit of a granola mom… but I’m the chewy kind, not the crunchy kind.  I still believe in vaccines (I trust my doc, and we’ve already had a discussion about this), and I don’t make my own shampoo or soap.  I’m not a stay at home mom… I will be returning to work this week.  We don’t eat organic everything (or anything for that matter).  I’m not vegan or even vegetarian   I just do what I can to bring her up right with a respect for herself, for her family/friends, and her environment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

