Three Drunk Monkeys

“A fit, healthy body—that is the best fashion statement” ― Jess C Scott April 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — drunkmunkies @ 3:14 pm

I thought I was going to be one of the lucky ones.  The new mothers who look like they were never pregnant… and I was, for about a month or so.  Then I gained back the weight – plus some.

I had just started the Couch to 5K in November or December.  I’d repeated the first week 3 times, but couldn’t bring myself to actually run for long periods of time.  Then I found out I was pregnant and I stopped going (I’m a morning gym person, not the best thing for a pregnant lady).  I stopped drinking (as you should) and at the first prenatal appointment, found out that I’d lost 4 pounds.  Well, woohoo for me.  The doc said that happens sometimes because of the morning sickness, which I didn’t have any of.  We figured it was because I’d stopped drinking beer.  At the next appointment a month later, I’d lost 4 more.  I got scolded by the doctor and said I wasn’t allow to lose anymore… which I did.  Four more.  She put me on a high fat diet (yogurt, whole milk), and generally told me don’t lose anymore.  I gained one by the next appointment, and then it was a healthy weight gain from then on.  From my original weight (before I lost anything), I probably gained 15 pounds or so.  If you include the weight I lost in the beginning, I was well within the normal limits.  My plan when I went into labor was to weigh myself before and after.  Well, everything went so fast, I didn’t think to, so I don’t know what my final weight was.

I had Abby, and the next day I was in my pre-pregnancy clothes… AND THEY WERE TOO BIG.  This was great.  I was down to a weight that I liked and I didn’t have to do squat.  I was breast feeding and eating like a lumberjack… and then I started having issues with her refusal and that led to supply issues.  But I was still eating like a lumberjack.  Now I’m up to 145.  😦  My goal is 20 pounds to lose.

I want to be in a happy place before Abby really starts to realize my attitude about my own body.  I never had any body image problems growing up.  I don’t know where this is all coming from.  I have fat days now.  I know that I’ve had a kid and there are things (like larger tummies) that come with it, but because I had that faint glimmer of a work-free fit body, I’m disappointed in what I am now.  So I’ve done something drastic, and signed up for the Tough Mudder (http://toughmudder.com/).  If I don’t train before I do this, I’m certainly going to get injured (hell, I might get injured WHILE training for it).  But I want to be healthy for her, and rein this in before I want to lose 50 pounds, not just 20.

Kids are so receptive to feelings at a young age, and some adults just don’t realize that.  I don’t want her to see that I’m unhappy in my own skin.  That’s actually one of the reasons that I’ve decided to do baby-led solids… I want her to have a good, healthy relationship with food.

“There is nothing more rare, nor more beautiful, than a woman being unapologetically herself; comfortable in her perfect imperfection. To me, that is the true essence of beauty.”
― Steve Maraboli

 

Leave a Reply

