Three Drunk Monkeys

I love yoga… OMG, I love it! January 20, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — drunkmunkies @ 2:47 pm

It’s been a few weeks (and my goal was to get better about this)….

 

I’ve started yoga.  SO glad I did this.  I’ve been going twice a week for 2 or 3 weeks.  Yesterday I went as well… different teacher though.  Ironically, it was a substitute, so I STILL don’t know what type of teacher Kathy is (the normal Saturday one).  I didn’t catch her name, but she seemed to go easy on us.  At least, it was easier compared to Heidie’s class.  Something that is odd that I’ve found is that the two teachers I’ve had so far, remind me of Mrs. Roper from Three’s Company or Blanche from Golden Girls.  It’s kind of hilarious.  I’m pretty sure I’m the youngest in the class (the hot trendy chicks go to yoga studios apparently… I go to the Y)… but that teacher… man she kicks our asses.  I can’t do Crow or Bird of Paradise.  I’m happy that I can do a side plank most of the time.  I have re-learned to do a bridge (in yoga they call it a wheel), which I’m pretty excited about… next step is kicking over into a back walkover… Not.

 

Also, the YMCA is running a Four by Four program… go to the gym four times a week (1/2 hour each) for four weeks.  I can do that… that’s why I went to the extra class yesterday.  And then running once a week or so (maybe twice this week… we’ll see).  But I really like the yoga.  I’ve been wanting to do this since before Abby was born.  I was thinking that the breathing would be helpful as a coping mechanism during birth – and the hip/pelvic stretching couldn’t hurt either.  With our old gym, I could never seem to get it in my schedule.  Then the Y opened a little after she was born.  I’ve just started getting into the swing of things and I really wish that I’d done this sooner.  I love it.  My class is 7-8 Tuesday and Thursday, so I help Ian with getting the girl started on dinner, and he finishes it and gets her down to bed.  That seems to be working really well.  We’re both getting in our gym time AND our “me” time.

 

The type of yoga that Heidie leads is a combination of styles, but she refers to it as “Power Yoga”… it’s got some more stretching and strength training.  I really enjoy the strength training.  I hurt the next day, but I can still move (and damn that Chair pose… she’s a little too fond of it if you ask me – but I suppose that’s something I should work on… that’s the one thing I have issues with).  But the breathing exercises I’ve really been trying to embrace.  I use it when I’m driving and someone pisses me off… I use it at work.  I’m learning a lot about the way that my body works… I’ve learned that I breathe more shallowly if I’m in pain (I vaguely remember the nurse reminding me to slow my breath during labor)… I’m trying to be more cognizant of that – I want it to become second nature when I need it.  The inward focus comes pretty naturally, but I am noticing things to work on.  I plan on continuing this up through the next pregnancy.  This is definitely come in handy in the future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

