Three Drunk Monkeys

I hate dreams sometimes January 26, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — drunkmunkies @ 7:05 am

I woke up at 6 this morning because of a nightmare.
I dreamed that I had met someone outside of my office, and we were just chillin out on a sunny day. It had been about 2-2.5 hours and then I realized I’d left Abby in the car. So I freak out, drive to Starbucks, which is the closest open business that has ice, and have them call 911. By the time they arrived to take a very hot and unresponsive Abby to the hospital, I had woken up.
I didn’t really go into detail, but suffice to say it terrified me enough to wake me up and now I feel sick.
My brain does nice things to me sometimes – like in my dreams, gives me clues that it’s not real. Abby was the same age she is now, but she wasn’t in a car seat, she was just buckled in the back. I was outside of work on the weekend (why would I be there?). Even though my parents live on the other side of the country, I had their Chevy Tahoe. But when you’re a panicked mama, those details don’t matter. All that matters is your child not dying… And to be honest, had the dream finished, I don’t think she would have made it.
In real life, stuff doesn’t generally happen like this. She might fall asleep in the car, but you take her inside someplace…. Or at the very least (if it’s not blazing hot out), you stick close to the car and open the windows and park in the shade… And you set a timer to check in every 10 minutes. Or you meet the friend AT Starbucks instead of at a closed building. And Abby sits in her car seat. There wasn’t even one in the car in my dream.

So, yeah… Something like this wouldn’t happen… But that doesn’t stop the dreams from coming. I’m sure this won’t be the last… Not really thrilled about the ones to come.

 

Leave a Reply

