Three Drunk Monkeys

How do you Etsy? November 6, 2013

Filed under: Crafts,Sewing — drunkmunkies @ 7:46 pm

Returning back to the last post, I’ve started to figure out what to do about money. I think I previously said that based on my current salary, I wouldn’t be able to return to work full time (or part time) after I have another kid. Since I’m not pregnant (nor are we trying), now would be a good time to figure out what to do about that.

 

Either I need a new job, my husband needs a new job, or we need to find an option three. I’ve started thinking about opening an Etsy shop.

 

I know zero about running a business. Even if it’s a part-time thing, there would still be more to it than make stuff, sell stuff. There are invoices to create, shipping and costs to figure out, taxes to work in, branding a product, making a product, *marketing* a product. There’s a lot to it. Something simple that I like to do… I would need to make about $500 a month (more would be a huge bonus). I’m just trying to figure out if it would be worth it. I’ve found myself stocking up on inexpensive fabrics (yay sales!), and thinking about what I could make. What I’m NOT thinking about is how to price those items or the details that go with it. I like sewing, but I’m worried that if I turn it into a “job” then I won’t find it enjoyable anymore. I’ve decided I’ll make what I think is cute, what *I* would like to buy… no custom orders. This way I can sell what I have in stock, so all I have to deal with is getting it shipping in a timely manner (which shouldn’t be too hard since I live near a UPS store).

So I’ve more or less made my decision, I just need to come up with a plan. And some sewing labels.

 

 

Leave a Reply

