Three Drunk Monkeys

No More Etsy; I Got Side-Tracked! February 6, 2014

Filed under: Crafts,Knitting Loom,Pinterest,Sewing — drunkmunkies @ 1:47 pm

So I decided that I probably won’t open an Etsy shop.  Through the course of doing research, I learned that it wasn’t as simple as I thought…. in order to sell children’s items (cloth diapers, clothes, blankets, etc), you actually have to have a license and you need to make sure that you’re compliant with any rules and regulations regarding fabric that is fire retardant and a whole host of other things to make sure they’re safe for your little one (and I’m not even including the whole thing about creating a new bank account and the fact that I’d need to file taxes….).  I’ll still continue making things for me (and maybe friends as I learn more), but there is just more involved than I originally thought.  Maybe when child #2 rolls around I’ll start looking into it again.  As of now, not so much.

 

So what have I been doing?  Well, still sewing (although I took a break… Christmas was non-stop sewing gifts for people and I needed a break).  I made a New Year’s resolution to learn how to crochet well.  Shouldn’t be that hard… I have no desire to knit, so I’m not worrying about that.  HOWEVER, I did discover something that I really enjoy.  While my mom and sister were out visiting, we went to JoAnn’s to look around and get some yarn and such to get me started.  In with the crochet hooks and knitting needles, I found something that’s called a knitting loom.  This thing is awesome.  The up side is that it’s ridiculously easy to use.  The down side is that for the life of me, I haven’t been able to find a comprehensive tutorial on the different stitches you can make to create a pattern.  I’ve found a few on Pinterest that are drawn and then scanned in, but I have no notion of what they actually look like when they are woven.  So I’ve charged myself with the task of bringing those sketches to life and posting them here.  Luckily there is at least just the basic outline of what it should be.  Any notes on the images are actually in Spanish or Portuguese.  I can translate them roughly, but are people really going to be interested in doing that?  Probably not… except me because I’m completely confused why there isn’t something like that out there in English.  It’s the internet for goodness sake!  So turns out this will probably turn into a mom/craft/crunchy blog.

 

Shocking.  Come to the dark side and join me on Pinterest.  I’ve already sold my soul for food and homemade lotion.

 

New Purse for Me!

New Purse for Me!

 

 

The tutorial for the wings is on my Pinterest feed somewhere.  It's cut out plastic and glitter nail polish.

The tutorial for the wings is on my Pinterest feed somewhere. It’s cut out plastic and glitter nail polish.

 

 

Apparently it's a Lalaloopsie knock-off.  I still don't know what Lalaloopsie is.

Apparently it’s a Lalaloopsie knock-off. I still don’t know what Lalaloopsie is.

 

 

Twin size dragonfly quilt for Abby.  She'll move to a twin this summer and then we'll redecorate her room (yay rainbows)!

Twin size dragonfly quilt for Abby. She’ll move to a twin this summer and then we’ll redecorate her room (yay rainbows)!

 

Leave a Reply

